Writing + Events

2021

Panel: Writer’s League of Texas Third Thursday, “Beyond Borders: The Art of Travel Writing.” Thursday, November 18, @ 8:00 to 9:30 PM (CT). RSVP at WritersLeague.org.

Panel: Peace Corps Celebrates: Native American Heritage Month. Wednesday, November 17 @ 1 PM (CT). Register at PeaceCorps.

Reading: Arizona State University Library, Wednesday, November 10 @ Noon – 1 PM (MT) / 1:00 – 2:00 PM (CT). Register at ASU Library.

Workshop: Writing About Places Familiar and Unfamiliar, Wednesday, November 10 @ 5:30 to 7:30 PM (MT) / 6:30 to 8:30 PM (CT) Register at the Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing.

Reading: Writers on Writing, OLLI at San Francisco State University (Virtual). November 8 @ 10 AM Pacific.

Book Club Reading. One Woman Traveler Book Club. Friday, November 5 @ 9 am (PT) / 11 AM (CT).

Redwood City, California Library Reading: Author Ursula Pike – An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir (Virtual). October 12 @ 6:30 PM (Pacific Time). Register at RedwoodCity.org.

Decolonizing Our Travels: A Conversation with Ursula Pike, Author of An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir (Virtual), Monday, July 19, 2021 @ 6:00 pm PT/8:00 pm CT. Register at Healing Justice Collective of Central Oregon and Embrace Bend. Spanish translation and ASL interpretation services will be available.

Diesel Bookstore presents: Ursula Pike, in conversation with Carolann Duro, discusses An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir, Thursday, May 13, 2021 @ 8:30 PM PT/10:30 PM CT. Register at DIESEL/Crowdcast.

Birchbark Books presents An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir, Friday, May 7, 2021 @ 7 pm CT. Register at birchbarkbooks.com

An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Reading and Conversation at UC Berkeley. Thursday, April 29, 2021 @ 12 pm PT/ 2 pm CT. Register at eventbrite.com/e/an-indian-among-los-indigenas-a-reading-and-conversation-at-uc-berkeley

Interview in Ligeia Magazine, “Ursula Pike interview by Anita Roastingear” Spring 2021 issue. Available at ligeiamagazine.com/spring-2021/ursula-pike-interview

BookPeople Reading and Conversation for An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir, Tuesday, April 27, 2021 @ 4 pm PT/ 6 pm CT at BookPeople. Register at BookPeople.com

“How to Tell Readers Who You Are Without Telling Them Who You Are” in Lit Hub. April 23, 2021. Available at Lithub.com

From ACC to Author. Austin Community College. April 22, 2021 @ 7 pm CT. For information visit facebook.com/acc.crw.dept/events

Earth Day Special: Water, Culture and Development. University of Madison – Wisconsin. April 21, 2021 @ 4 pm CT. Register at https://go.wisc.edu/r0k3w1

California Indian authors roundtable with Deborah Miranda, Ursula Pike, Cindi Alvitre, and Terria Smith. April 18, 2021 @ 4 pm PT/ 6 pm CT. Register at heydaybooks.org/event/california-indian-authors-roundtable/

Guest on George Cramer’s Blog Ursula Pike – Karuk – Author – Peace Corps Volunteer April 8, 2021

An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir from Heyday Books April 6, 2021.

2020

“Sterile” in Yellow Medicine Review, Fall 2020 http://www.yellowmedicinereview.com/

Managing Change and Challenge with Compassion and Resilience in Digital Higher Education Consortium of Texas blog, May 2020 https://www.digitex.org/news/post/meeting-change-and-challenge-compassion-and-resilience

2019

“My Grandfather’s House” in Ligeia Magazine, Fall 2019 https://www.ligeiamagazine.com/fall-2019/my-grandfathers-house-ursula-pike/

“Taking OER Off-Campus: Equity Is About More Than Saving Money” Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources Equity & Openness blog, August 2019 https://www.cccoer.org/2019/08/14/on-equity-diversity-inclusion-and-open-education/#off-campus

“Mi Charango” in Ocotillo Review, Summer 2019 https://www.kallistogaiapress.org/

Pre-2019

“Frybread” in Yellow Medicine Review, Fall 2017 https://www.yellowmedicinereviewstore.com/

Review of the Last Powwow in World Literature Today, May 2017 https://www.worldliteraturetoday.org/2017/may/last-pow-wow-native-thomas-steven-paul-judd

“The Falls” on O’Dark 30, Episode 36 https://exchange.prx.org/playlists/169210

“Thank You Very Much” in Rio Review, Spring 2013 https://sites.austincc.edu/crw/for-students/the-rio-review/

%d bloggers like this: